Jun 9, 2016

Blog Tour: Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee

Hello, you lucky few (or many)! I'm very excited about today's post, for it's my stop on the blog tour for Kathryn Ormsbee's Lucky Few! Now, Kathryn is one of my friends, and I totally adore her novel The Water and the Wild, which is absolutely spectacular and you must read it. (Also, I must do the obligatory #FifeandtheNortherliesFTMFW.) But today is all about Lucky Few, and while I'll also tell you all about the book and you can enter to be one of the lucky few to win their very own copy, for my stop on this tour I will be cover matching. What is that, you ask? Should I be afraid, Rachel, you ask? You'll just have to scroll down and find out for yourself.



...Is it still a guest post if I'm doing the post myself? OH WELL. Today I'm putting together an ensemble (using pretty much only stuff I already have and saving $$$) to match Lucky Few! Originally I was just going to match the cover, but I don't exactly have all those colors. HOWEVER, I've been reading the book, and it has this quality to it that's very...quirky? So I tried to mix that with the cover and create a little something fun!


First up...MAKEUP!


So, like, disclaimer: I told my mom I was going to film myself doing my makeup and she was like, "You're going to film yourself doing your makeup?" THANKS, MOM. I really don't think I'm bad at it? I'm just not an expert (experts will watch this and scoff and be like what is she doing), and, well, I had to ask my mom how to do blush because I never wear blush. The following is basically my go-to simpleish look, using all Mary Kay products (my mom's a consultant) and one Sephora eyeshadow set that was a gift, all pictured below the video. HAVE MERCY ON ME.



And hereeeeee are all the products from the video (gosh, where's that cringing all-teeth emoji when you need it?), along with how I used them (and without fancy terms).


1. I used Moonstone as my base over the entirety of my lid, under my brow, and in the crease, so...everywhere except for the actual eyeball. I like this color because it's not too shimmery and it stays pretty mellow. (I've tried using the Chantilly Lace in the Sephora set as a base but it gives my eyes this weird darkness or something and I'm never pleased with how it looks.)

2. I then put Pretty Sunrise (a coppery gold) from the corner of my lid to about the brush's length in, and I'll do that about twice so the color really shows, and I also put it on the crease.

3. The rest of the lid--just the lid--is Hot Cocoa (a darker brown). (The shadow, not the actual powder.) I do that at least two times, or until it's how dark I want it. I go about to where Pretty Sunrise is. Then I use Pretty Sunrise again and pull it halfway over or so--this blends the two shadows and also adds a shimmer to Hot Cocoa. Then voila!

4. Eyeliner! I do a semi-thick line across the top of the lashes (really, thickness just depends on how it goes on each eye and if they match), then a thinner one beneath, stopping just before the corner. (I don't put liner closer to the eye because my eyes get irritated.)

5. I take the gold fluid eyeliner (I also have teal and purple) and put it above the regular liner, and if I accidentally cover the black I just take the black and go over the gold.

6. MASCARA. I know "clumpy" and "lashes" never go together, but I, personally, like that thicker look. So here's what I do on each eye: 15 swipes on top, 10 on bottom, dip brush, 15 on top, 15 on top. I'm crazy, I know, but I like dem lashes to look long and full.

7. Skin time! I use CC Cream (in Very Light, hehe) and cover my entire face, carefully go under the eyes and around my nose piercing, and blend down to the neck. Then I take my Ivory 0.5 face powder--I'm a vampire--and brush a fewish layers. (Unless it's three days before graduation and my sister has used it all up again.)

8. Next is Shy Blush, which I used because I thought it fit the book and I wanted that pop of color. I'd tell you how to do--make a fish face and don't brush up past the eyes, I think?--but I'd probably make you look like a clown because I'm not a blush user (honestly I do that so easily naturally so why enhance it).

9. Lastly--phew!--is lipstick. I wanted an orangeish color to go with the cover, but I'm also cheap and there weren't many options, but I'm satisfied with Wet N Wild's less-than-a-dollar What's Up, Doc? (Who names these things?) Then pucker up with Lucky Few and your face is ready to go!

Secondly...Hair!

Here's a funny story: I was going to do another video to show you the hairstyle I chose, but for some reason that part of the video is absolutely and somehow missing. All I have is me brushing my mess of a hair, and no one wants to see that. WHOOPS! And by the time I realized I was missing the video it was too late to take a picture of my hair, so no pictures (until you scroll down further). But just know this: big, poofy, kind of messy bun, accessorized with a black skull bandanna (like a dollar WalMart) because a certain character in Lucky Few is kind of obsessed with death.

Thirdly...Outfit! 

Up last is what to wear. (I would've done nails, too, but I just got them done for graduation and can't go over them. But I would very much recommend five similar colors, one for each finger, and that they match the cover. Also, MATTE.) I battled with what to wear because nothing I had screamed this book cover. I was going to buy a romper I saw at Marshall's, but when I went to get it it was no longer there. (RUDE, people.) So I went through what dresses I had--I really wanted to wear a dress for this cover--and I found one! WHICH MEANS...

A Lucky Few Ensemble


I went for a jean dress because I thought it was quirky, especially with the orangeish, cover-tying-in shirt underneath. As you can see, I bunned up the hair. And the SHOES. I wanted heels and didn't think anything else would match, but I also thought the brown and the fringe totally worked.


I think the cover actually kind of matches!


I'm also getting a slight seventies school teacher vibe but whatever. (I spray painted this furniture like a month ago. It also kind of matches!)


At least Ewok Puppy likes it.

And thank YOU for following along with my shenanigans. I promise Lucky Few is cooler and less awkward than I am.



TitleLucky Few
Author: Kathryn Ormsbee
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publishing Date: June 7, 2016
Pages: 384

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.



Kathryn (K.E.) Ormsbee writes Middle Grade and Young Adult books. Her debut novel, The Water and the Wild, is a Middle Grade fantasy published by Chronicle Books in April 2015, with a sequel to follow in Fall 2016. Her YA debut, Lucky Few, will be published by Simon & Schuster in Summer 2016.

In her wild, early years, Kathryn taught English as a Foreign Language, interned with a film society, and did a lot of irresponsible road tripping. Her crowning achievement is that the back of her head was in an iPhone commercial, and people actually paid her money for it.

Nowadays, she teaches piano lessons, plays in a band you've never heard of, and run races she never wins. She likes clothes from the 60s, music from the 70s, and movies from the 80s. She is from the 90s.


Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram



a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 comments:

  1. This is so much fun! I think your outfit turned our perfect!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Its really fun. I enjoyed reading this. Thanks for sharing this interesting blog :)

    ReplyDelete

I've been having s-to-the-pam issues, and I wasn't thrilled with Disqus, so sorry about the CAPTCHA!