Top Ten Tuesday (138)

Jun 30, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

Jun 26, 2015

TitleThe Summer of Chasing Mermaids
Author: Sarah Ockler
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publishing Date: June 2, 2015
Pages/Format: 368, eARC
Add on Goodreads!

The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one.

Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life. 

When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them . . .


Book in One Word: More.

Waiting on Wednesday (137)

Jun 24, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I literally just discovered this on Goodreads like five seconds ago or something and OH MY GOSH I WANT IT I WANT IT NOW GIVE IT TO ME GIMME GIMME GIMME.

Top Ten Tuesday (137)

Jun 23, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Jun 21, 2015

TitleThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Publishing Date: June 9, 2015
Pages/Format: 400, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.
 



Book in One Word: Lackluster.

Review: Deadfall by Anna Carey

Jun 18, 2015

TitleDeadfall
Author: Anna Carey
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publishing Date: June 16, 2015
Pages/Format: 256, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target.

A week ago, you woke up in Los Angeles with no memory of who you are. The only thing you knew: people are trying to kill you. You put your trust in Ben, but he betrayed you and broke your heart. Now you've escaped to New York City with a boy named Rafe, who says he remembers you from before. But the two of you are not safe. The same people who are after you are tailing Rafe as well. As the chase heats up, your memory starts to return, but your past cannot save you from the terrifying circumstances of your present, or the fact that one wrong move could end this game forever. 

With enemies on every side, and not a reprieve in sight, Deadfall will grab readers and refuse to let go. Perfect for fans of the Maze Runner series and the Legend series.



Book in One Word: Huh.

Waiting on Wednesday (136)

Jun 17, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I have been waiting for this book for a very long time (and it FINALLY has a cover). I added it on Goodreads over a year ago, so for over a year I've been wondering when all the book's details would be revealed so it'd be that much closer to being in my hands. The premise of this book is very hard to resist, for it's about pirates, but not just any pirates: it's the origin story of the one and only Blackbeard. (Fun-ish fact: I did basic research on Blackbeard--real name Edward Teach--to write a short story for a fiction writing class this year, and it makes for some very interesting things and many possible plot points.) And since it has to do with the most famous pirate in the history of ever--who's real, at least; sorry, Captain Hook and Captain Jack Sparrow--it's only fitting to call it treasure and be willing to do THINGS to get it, because I WANT IT.

Top Ten Tuesday (136)

Jun 16, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Recap: May It Be June

Jun 14, 2015

Yes, we are HALFWAY through June--oopsie oops!--but still, here's my recap of May and what I'm looking forward to in June!

Waiting on Wednesday (135)

Jun 10, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I have yet to read any of this author's books--though I want to--but her latest sounds awfully good. A girl is brought back in time to 1776? There's a ship setting? Mystery and intrigue? YES PLEASE.

Top Ten Tuesday (135)

Jun 9, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Blog Tour: Out of Control by Sarah Alderson

Jun 8, 2015

Hello, runaway readers! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Sarah Alderson's Out of Control! I'll be sharing my thoughts on this on-the-run novel with you today, and spoiler alert: I liked it! Of course I'll also be telling you everything you need to know about Sarah and her book, plus there's a giveaway. So don't get skip town just yet--I promise you have some time to stick around before the bad guys are on your tail again.

Review: Happy Again by Jennifer E. Smith

Jun 7, 2015

TitleHappy Again
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher: Poppy
Publishing Date: April 14, 2015
Pages/Format: 84, eBook
Add on Goodreads!

Ellie O'Neill and Graham Larkin fell hard for each other when a misspelled email address unexpectedly brought them together. Now, over a year has passed since they said goodbye with the promise to stay in touch, and their daily emails have dwindled to nothing. Ellie is a freshman in college and has told herself to move on, and Graham has kept himself busy starring in more movies, as well as a few tabloid columns. But fate brought these two together once before—and it isn't done with them yet.

In this sequel novella to This is What Happy Looks Like, Jennifer E. Smith revisits two beloved characters to tell the story of one magical night in Manhattan. When Ellie and Graham come face to face once more, can they get past the months of silence and the hurt feelings to find their happily-ever-after again?


Book in One Word: Pleasant

Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Jun 4, 2015

Title99 Days
Author : Katie Cotugno
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publishing Date: April 21, 2015
Pages/Format: 384, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.


Book in One Word: Trainwreck

Waiting on Wednesday (134)

Jun 3, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

Ever since I read The Rules for Disappearing, I've wanted to read pretty much all the thriller books, and there's a bit of a bonus if the protagonist is put through the Witness Protection Program. The following seems to have it, and I'm seriously loving thrillers and books with a crime aspect, which this appears to also have. Dangerous as this book may be, I want it.

Top Ten Tuesday (134)

Jun 2, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: The Cage by Megan Shepherd

Jun 1, 2015

TitleThe Cage
Author: Megan Shepherd
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publishing Date: May 26, 2015
Pages/Format: 400, eARC
Add on Goodreads!

The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman's Daughter trilogy.

When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn't know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn't alone.

Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora's past. None of them have a clue as to what happened, and all of them have secrets. As the unlikely group struggles for leadership, they slowly start to trust each other. But when their mysterious jailer—a handsome young guard called Cassian—appears, they realize that their captivity is more terrifying than they could ever imagine: Their captors aren't from Earth. And they have taken the five teenagers for an otherworldly zoo—where the exhibits are humans.

As a forbidden attraction develops between Cora and Cassian, she realizes that her best chance of escape might be in the arms of her own jailer—though that would mean leaving the others behind. Can Cora manage to save herself and her companions? And if so . . . what world lies beyond the walls of their cage?


Book in One Word: MESSY

 
site design by designer blogs