Waiting on Wednesday (127)

Apr 15, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I'm kind of cheating with this week's pick because I have an ARC. But I've had my eye on this book for a while. It just sounds so deliciously dark--the protagonist escapes a cult and had her hands cut off--and I am so, so excited to read it.

TitleThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Publishing Date: June 9, 2015
Pages: 400
Add on Goodreads!

This poetic page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

This debut novel is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.


Are you waiting on a grittier book this week?

7 comments:

  1. I am SO intrigued by this book. No hands? A cult? It sounds really unique. Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions


    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book looks very intriguin churches and cults look interesting hope you like and enjoy it!

    Waiting on Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  3. This looks really interesting - hadn't heard of it before - can't wait to hear what you think!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This books has all the IN words - interesting, intriguing, and intense. I'm adding it to my list.

    I hope you enjoy the book! Check out my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Been seeing this one around. I like the blurb and I'm very intrigued about the character. Thanks for sharing :)

    Happy Wednesday!

    Shane @ Itchingforbooks

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds so interesting! I already added it to my TBR. I can't wait to read your thoughts on it.

    Tina, The Bookworm

    ReplyDelete

I've been having s-to-the-pam issues, and I wasn't thrilled with Disqus, so sorry about the CAPTCHA!

 
site design by designer blogs