Aug 29, 2014

Blog Tour: Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child by Maria T. Lennon

Hello, starlets! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Maria T. Lennon's tween novel sequel, Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child! I've got all the info on both books, how to avoid unwanted people, where you can follow the author, and a giveaway, so tune in!

[Beauty and the Bookshelf: Here's Charlie Cooper, star of Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, telling us the best ways to avoid the paparazzi!]

I’m gonna be honest with you. I have major experience here. And the solution is easy. The single best way to keep those paps out of your life is to steer clear of drama.

If you keep the drama out of your life, they pretty much forget about you. Case in point: Britney Spears. Remember when she was going crazy, shaving her head, the paps followed her everywhere like an assault force. I should know. One time I was with my mom and we were just going to the market and Britney happened to be going to the Starbucks next door and all the sudden there were like ten black Suburbans with guys hanging out the windows, cameras attached to their necks, cutting in front of us, practically running people over and jumping out of their cars just to get a picture of her getting a coffee. Then they followed her like she was the president. But up here where I live high in the Hollywood Hills they don’t do that and there’s a lot of celebrities around here, some even more well-known than yours truly. Hard to believe, I know.

But it could worse real soon because of my new TV show. I’ll keep you posted.

Title: Confessions of a So-called Middle Child
Author: Maria T. Lennon
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publishing Date: August 27, 2013
Pages: 288
Barnes & Noble

It's Mean Girls for tweens in the tradition of Paula Danziger's Cat That Ate My Gymsuit and Judy Blume! Watch out, world: here comes Charlie C. Coopercomputer whiz, reformed bully, and so-called middle child-in this seriously funny debut tween novel from screenwriter Maria T. Lennon.

Confessions of a So-called Middle Child stars the hilariously cheeky reformed bully and tween hacker Charlie Cooper as she tries to ditch her middle-child reputation and make cool friends at her new school in Los Angeles. But being cool isn't as easy as it looks. Charlie has to face down the mean girls and decide between right and wrong once and for all when she learns the terrible truth behind Marta the Farta's bad attitude and loner status. And Charlie has to do it all in outfits meant for the runways!

Maria T. Lennon has created a fresh and fun story that brings Mean Girls to the tween level, peppered with snarky asides, major attitude, and advice to spare from Charlie
whether you asked for it or not.

Title: Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child
Author: Maria T. Lennon
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Publishing Date: August 26, 2014
Pages: 240

Hilarious tween heroine Charlie C. Cooper—reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child—is back! This sequel to Confessions of a So-called Middle Child will delight fans of Louise Rennison, Mean Girls, and Harriet the Spy.

Charlie's adventures offer a fresh look at middle school, bullying, and mean girls. In Book Two, Charlie navigates sudden celebrity and auditions for a television series, but a little white lie may endanger the one friendship Charlie can truly count on—and her connection to swoon-worthy crush Bobby! Poignant and seriously funny, Charlie's account of her dilemma is one all tweens will relate to.

Charlie knows what it feels like to be stuck in the middle, but it's finally her time to shine. After saving her friend Marta in the old Houdini tunnels of Los Angeles, Charlie's become a local hero, gained sudden celebrity, and *MIGHT* just become a TV star! But will Charlie let her newfound fame go to her head? Watch out, Hollywood!

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, the first book featuring the irrepressible Charlie C. Cooper. When not driving one of her four children to school or volunteering at school libraries, she can be found sitting in a parked car, a café, or a library, writing novels, travel articles, or just passed out. To learn more, and to download a free curriculum guide, visit her website.

Website Twitter Facebook

Win your own hardcover copy of Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child! AND a paperback copy of the first book, Confessions of a So-called Middle Child! Just follow the rules listed below.

-US only!
-Please don't cheat, because cheating (and shady) entries will be disqualified.
-Neither Rachel of Beauty and the Bookshelf nor Maria T. Lennon are responsible for any lost or damaged prizes.
-Contest begins Friday, August 29, 2014 at 12:00 a.m. EST and ends on Friday, September 12, 2014 at 12:00 a.m. EST.
-Winner will either be tweeted and/or emailed and will have forty-eight hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I would avoid paparazzi with subterfuge. I'd send out a staffer in a fancy car with tinted windows, then I would leave the house in a plain Jane car. And large sunglasses. I might would consider embracing the paparazzi too; if I let them photograph me, they'll see I have nothing scandalous to hide and they might lose interest.

  2. Thanks for sharing this helpful post.If you need more please check click here


I've been having s-to-the-pam issues, and I wasn't thrilled with Disqus, so sorry about the CAPTCHA!