Jul 2, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (89)

Waiting on Wednesday
is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine
 that showcases upcoming releases 
that people are very much anticipating.

These people have FEATHERS for HAIR. I am SOLD. (And can I have that hair?)

Title: The Girl at Midnight
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publishing Date: April 28, 2015
Pages: 368
Add on Goodreads!

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.


Are you waiting on a book with a release date that's NEXT YEAR?

21 comments:

  1. Great pick! I'm excited for this one as well; plus I love the cover so much!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've never heard of this one!!! Where have I been? It sounds AMAZING. Great pick! :)

    Holly @ Part of that World

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooo, awesome pick! As you know, I revealed the cover for it, and I am STOKED to read it!

    Hafsah @ IceyBooks

    ReplyDelete
  4. A firebird story! I also have this book on my TBR even though it's not set to be released until next year. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Love the cover! I'm a huge purple fan. It also sounds badass! Lots of magic and war and intrigue!

    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't heard of this book before but it sounds awesome! To me it sounds kinda similar to Daughter Of Smoke and Bone, which I love. Awesome pick! Also I would love to have feathers for hair =)
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  7. Just yesterday, I created a 2015 releases shelf to goodreads, all because of this book. It sounds so awesome - I can't wait!
    Thanks for sharing this with others :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh this looks really great! Added! Thanks for stopping by The Cover Contessa.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm so excited about this book! I love that cover and the concept sounds really cool. I hope you'll enjoy it when it comes out. :)

    Nick - My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ohhh, pretty cover! Sounds great too. And I have a few in 2015 I can't wait to read, mainly being Ensnared by A.G. Howard. :)

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    ReplyDelete
  11. This book had me at its beautiful cover! It sounds amazing. :) Lovely choice!

    Thanks for stopping by my my WOW. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I have some books on my tbr for next year, but most of them don't have covers yet! I've also cut back on how far into the future a book's release date is when I post my WoWs. This doesn't sound like something I would normally read, but I hope you enjoy it.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  13. I've never heard of anything like this before! I wonder how it'll be!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm waiting on a LOT of 2015 books. I'm trying not to get too excited for them yet . . . though they do look so good.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Ummm... how did I miss that part of the description before ("feathers for hair")... that is so weirdly awesome. haha.

    Thanks for stopping by The Hiding Spot! I responded to your comment with some kidnapping recommendations. (That sounds way creepier than I meant it too...)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I haven't heard of this one before, but it sounds AMAZING. I love the quirky ones, so you'd better believe this is now on my list. Lovely pick!

    ReplyDelete
  17. This was one of my WoW picks last week! Don't you just love that cover?! The description kind of reminds me of Daughter of Smoke & Bone.

    My WoW picks

    ReplyDelete
  18. Can't wait for this either, great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I'm sold too. but 2015! Really, we have to wait so long.....

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  20. I'm dying to read this one, I was sold at Leigh Bardugo!
    -Scott Reads It!

    ReplyDelete

I've been having s-to-the-pam issues, and I wasn't thrilled with Disqus, so sorry about the CAPTCHA!