Waiting on Wednesday (139)

Jul 8, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I have a sudden need for this book. I was looking through Harper's catalog on Edelweiss, and when I looked at this one I saw something in the sidebar--it will contain SEVERAL MAPS. Maps, PLURAL. I have a Thing for maps, so oh my goooshhh. Also, why did I not pay attention to this synopsis before (I certainly noticed the cover): it sounds amaaazing, somebody please give me this book right this instant.

Top Ten Tuesday (139)

Jul 7, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Recap: June to July

Jul 4, 2015

Holy moly. Can you believe that we're already halfway through 2015? I swear it was just New Year's Eve and now we're blasting off fireworks for another occasion. It's crazy! But anyway, here's a recap of all the bookish things that happened in June (no more school means more time for reading!), and what I'm looking forward to in July!

Beauty and the Bookshelf Turns Three + Giveaway

Jul 2, 2015

My first blog post went up on September 17, 2010. It was titled "Welcome!" and was a small introduction for this blog original's title and purpose: For the Love of Reading. As a senior in high school, I was required to complete a senior project, and for my project I chose to put together my very own author signing, which I dubbed For the Love of Reading.


Leading up to the event with Holly Cupala, Kimberly Derting, Mandy Hubbard, and Lisa Schroeder, I posted a couple author interviews and random posts, and then posted about the event itself. For the next few months I posted sporadically, and eventually decided I wanted to turn For the Love of Reading into something I'd seen existing through Twitter: a book blog. I think I wanted to redesign the whole thing a bit--I really had no idea what I was doing, what went into reviewing a book, and so on--and I think I really only changed the name because it couldn't be my URL. I ended up combining my love of Beauty and the Beast with my love for books, and thus Beauty and the Bookshelf was born.

Waiting on Wednesday (138)

Jul 1, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

So I was scrolling through Epic Reads's cover reveals last week and then I saw THIS. Consider me SOLD. Also, are westerns a new trend in YA, because I can dig it.

Top Ten Tuesday (138)

Jun 30, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

Jun 26, 2015

TitleThe Summer of Chasing Mermaids
Author: Sarah Ockler
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publishing Date: June 2, 2015
Pages/Format: 368, eARC
Add on Goodreads!

The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one.

Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life. 

When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them . . .


Book in One Word: More.

Waiting on Wednesday (137)

Jun 24, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I literally just discovered this on Goodreads like five seconds ago or something and OH MY GOSH I WANT IT I WANT IT NOW GIVE IT TO ME GIMME GIMME GIMME.

Top Ten Tuesday (137)

Jun 23, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Jun 21, 2015

TitleThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial Books
Publishing Date: June 9, 2015
Pages/Format: 400, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.
 



Book in One Word: Lackluster.

 
site design by designer blogs