Waiting on Wednesday (144)

Aug 26, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I only heard about this book because I saw a few people talking about it on Twitter and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. And I have to say, I'm intrigued. The Civil War era is compelling, and the romance sounds like it will be sweet and swoony and fantastic to read. And it's inspired by Wuthering Heights? I mean, you already had me with the description of the romance, but sheesh--Rachel wants.

Top Ten Tuesday (144)

Aug 25, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: Never Never by Brianna R. Shrum

Aug 24, 2015

TitleNever Never
Author: Brianna R. Shrum
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Publishing Date: September 22, 2015
Pages/Format: 368, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

James Hook is a child who only wants to grow up.

When he meets Peter Pan, a boy who loves to pretend and is intent on never becoming a man, James decides he could try being a child—at least briefly. James joins Peter Pan on a holiday to Neverland, a place of adventure created by children’s dreams, but Neverland is not for the faint of heart. Soon James finds himself longing for home, determined that he is destined to be a man. But Peter refuses to take him back, leaving James trapped in a world just beyond the one he loves. A world where children are to never grow up.

But grow up he does. 

And thus begins the epic adventure of a Lost Boy and a Pirate.

This story isn’t about Peter Pan; it’s about the boy whose life he stole. It’s about a man in a world that hates men. It’s about the feared Captain James Hook and his passionate quest to kill the Pan, an impossible feat in a magical land where everyone loves Peter Pan.

Except one.



Book in One Word: HOOKed.

Review: Trouble Is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Aug 22, 2015

TitleTrouble Is a Friend of Mine
Author: Stephanie Tromly
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Publishing Date: August 4, 2015
Pages/Format: 336, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

Of course I didn’t like Digby when I first met him. No one does.

The first time Philip Digby shows up on Zoe Webster’s doorstep, he’s rude and he treats her like a book he’s already read and knows the ending to.

But before she knows it, Zoe’s allowed Digby—annoying, brilliant, and somehow…attractive? Digby—to drag her into a series of hilarious, dangerous, and only vaguely legal schemes all related to the kidnapping of a local teenage girl. A kidnapping that might be connected to the tragic disappearance of his little sister eight years ago. When it comes to Digby, Zoe just can’t say no.

But is Digby a hero? Or is his manic quest an indication of a desperate attempt to repair his broken family and exorcize his own obsessive-compulsive tendencies? And does she really care anyway?

This is a contemporary debut with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and a dynamic duo you won’t soon forget.


Book in One Word: Troubling.

My Bookstagram Evolution

Aug 20, 2015


People use Instagram for a number of things, but we all use it for a main purpose: posting (and hearting) pictures. Food, cats, family, concerts, sunsets--the possibilities are endless. But a lot of the accounts I follow on Instagram, and what I like to post most, have something to do with books.

For the Throne of Glass photo I had some fun with glass and a hammer.

Waiting on Wednesday (143)

Aug 19, 2015

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

That very intriguing synopsis. That gorgeous title. And holy shit, that cover. And the excerpt posted with the cover reveal? Good gosh, give me this damn book already.

Top Ten Tuesday (143)

Aug 18, 2015

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...

Review: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Aug 17, 2015

Title: Vengeance Road
Author: Erin Bowman
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publishing Date: September 1, 2015
Pages/Format: 336, eARC
Add on Goodreads!

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.

In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.





Book in One Word: Golden.

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Aug 12, 2015

TitleThe Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial Books
Publishing Date: August 18, 2015
Pages/Format: 432, ARC
Add on Goodreads!

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular NowNick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.



Book in One Word: Surprising

Those Gosh Darn Spoilers

Aug 10, 2015


Hiiiiiiiiiiiiii. Welcome to a discussion post that may be long, ranty, and filled with profanity, because I am a French, dirty-mouthed sailor and the topic of this discussion induces such words.

Spoilers. (There's an invisible fucking in front of that word, always.) This is a post I've wanted to write for, well, MONTHS, and now seems like the perfect time to do it since a very big, highly anticipated book has a release date that's just around the corner.

And three weeks away from said release date, something about it has already been spoiled. (And Twitter and readers have commenced the ragey, pissed off, hurt Freaking Out stage, as they rightfully should.)

So, spoilers. (Remember, there's always an invisible fucking in front.) Spoilers are a subjective thing. What one considers a spoiler, others might not. Some people might find one spoiler minor while others find it major. It all depends on the person.
 
site design by designer blogs