It's the Monster Mash

Aug 30, 2016

Today is, in fact, Frankenstein Day. (Not to be confused with Frankenstein Friday, which is the last Friday in October.) Frankenstein Day honors the birthday of Frankenstein creator Mary Shelley, who was born on this day in 1797--219 years ago! And so, to celebrate, I figured it'd be a fun time to have a...

MONSTER MASH!


And you're invited. The rest of the guest list is below, thirteen or so monsters and monster-like creatures and beasts and things from various works of fiction who will come to together just for Frankenstein Day. It'll be a graveyard smash, with blood served in the finest goblets made from the bones of their victims. Care to join?

Review: Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Aug 29, 2016

TitleLove & Gelato
Author: Jenna Evans Welch
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publishing Date: May 3, 2016
Pages/Format: 390, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

“I made the wrong choice.”

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.
 


Book in One Word: Cuteee


The Weekly Forecast (4)

Aug 28, 2016

Welcome to a new (and hopefully) weekly feature of sorts here on Beauty and the Bookshelf: The Weekly Forecast! (Name possibly still tentative.) I've been reworking the blog a bit, trying to post more and be consistent, but also to post more than reviews and the same two memes every week (assuming I even post anything during a week). Then I thought of The Weekly Forecast, a way to recap what I did on the blog (and maybe even read and watched and listened to?) the week before, and then to forecast what will be on the blog the coming week. The latter could be helpful because it keeps me in check, kind of: if I tell you I'm going to post a review this week then now I basically have to post a review this week. But first: let me tell you what happened on the blog last week.

I said it last week and I'll say it again this week: doing this has been so helpful with my blogging and posting a variety of content.

Boss Ass Bitches in YA

Aug 26, 2016

Today is National Dog Day, which is super duper fantastic. AND it's Women's Equality Day, which is also super duper fantastic. And so today the blog is all about some of my favorite boss ass bitches in YA.

Ninety Second Novel: Holding Up the Universe

Aug 25, 2016

Hello, my fellow bookworms! Welcome to Ninety Second Novel! With this sporadic feature, I'll be using booktube as a way to review a book before I can actually review it. In other words, if I happen to read a book earlier than I can post my review for it, then I'll be using this feature to tell you about it. Look at it as a preview review, perhaps? For the feature, I'll be talking about whatever book(s) I read, but in ninety seconds or less!

Waiting on Wednesday (173)

Aug 24, 2016

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I saw this book on A Reader of Fictions's Cover Snark (the reason why I look forward to Thursdays) and was immediately intrigued by the cover and, even more so, the title. It felt like a book that was right up my alley. I sincerely hoped the synopsis would be just as enticing, and, my gosh, IT WAS. The only problem? It doesn't publish for eight months.

Top Ten Tuesday (173)

Aug 23, 2016

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...


Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Aug 22, 2016

TitleAll the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Knopf
Publishing Date: January 6, 2015
Pages/Format: 388, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.



Book in One Word: Moody


The Weekly Forecast (3)

Aug 21, 2016

Welcome to a new (and hopefully) weekly feature of sorts here on Beauty and the Bookshelf: The Weekly Forecast! (Name possibly still tentative.) I've been reworking the blog a bit, trying to post more and be consistent, but also to post more than reviews and the same two memes every week (assuming I even post anything during a week). Then I thought of The Weekly Forecast, a way to recap what I did on the blog (and maybe even read and watched and listened to?) the week before, and then to forecast what will be on the blog the coming week. The latter could be helpful because it keeps me in check, kind of: if I tell you I'm going to post a review this week then now I basically have to post a review this week. But first: let me tell you what happened on the blog last week.

I know this only the third week I have scheduled, but doing this has been so helpful. If I don't want to blog I remember that I said I would post something, and something specific--and it's all planned ahead--and I've been doing it. I love it!

For the Tote: A Court of Mist and Fury - Part 1

Aug 20, 2016

For the Tote is a sporadic feature here on Beauty and the Bookshelf where I, in short, post about a few things (or more!) I would like to fill a tote up with.

Today's theme is...

A Court of Mist and Fury

 
site design by designer blogs