Waiting on Wednesday (173)

Aug 24, 2016

is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that 
showcases upcoming releases people are very much anticipating.

I saw this book on A Reader of Fictions's Cover Snark (the reason why I look forward to Thursdays) and was immediately intrigued by the cover and, even more so, the title. It felt like a book that was right up my alley. I sincerely hoped the synopsis would be just as enticing, and, my gosh, IT WAS. The only problem? It doesn't publish for eight months.

Top Ten Tuesday (173)

Aug 23, 2016

is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Tuesday's theme is...


Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Aug 22, 2016

TitleAll the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Knopf
Publishing Date: January 6, 2015
Pages/Format: 388, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


Book in One Word: Moody


The Weekly Forecast (3)

Aug 21, 2016

Welcome to a new (and hopefully) weekly feature of sorts here on Beauty and the Bookshelf: The Weekly Forecast! (Name possibly still tentative.) I've been reworking the blog a bit, trying to post more and be consistent, but also to post more than reviews and the same two memes every week (assuming I even post anything during a week). Then I thought of The Weekly Forecast, a way to recap what I did on the blog (and maybe even read and watched and listened to?) the week before, and then to forecast what will be on the blog the coming week. The latter could be helpful because it keeps me in check, kind of: if I tell you I'm going to post a review this week then now I basically have to post a review this week. But first: let me tell you what happened on the blog last week.

I know this only the third week I have scheduled, but doing this has been so helpful. If I don't want to blog I remember that I said I would post something, and something specific--and it's all planned ahead--and I've been doing it. I love it!

For the Tote: A Court of Mist and Fury - Part 1

Aug 20, 2016

For the Tote is a sporadic feature here on Beauty and the Bookshelf where I, in short, post about a few things (or more!) I would like to fill a tote up with.

Today's theme is...

A Court of Mist and Fury

Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Aug 18, 2016

TitleA Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publishing Date: May 3, 2016
Pages/Format: 624, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.
 



Book in One Word: E V E R Y T H I N G


Ninety Second Novel: The Doorway and the Deep

Aug 17, 2016

Hello, my fellow bookworms! Welcome to Ninety Second Novel! With this sporadic feature, I'll be using booktube as a way to review a book before I can actually review it. In other words, if I happen to read a book earlier than I can post my review for it, then I'll be using this feature to tell you about it. Look at it as a preview review, perhaps? For the feature, I'll be talking about whatever book(s) I read, but in ninety seconds or less!

Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Aug 16, 2016

Title: Shuffle, Repeat
Author: Jen Klein
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publishing Date: May 2, 2016
Pages/Format: 336, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.
 
Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.
 
Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.


Book in One Word: CUUUUUUUUUTE


The Weekly Forecast (2)

Aug 15, 2016

Welcome to a new (and hopefully) weekly feature of sorts here on Beauty and the Bookshelf: The Weekly Forecast! (Name possibly still tentative.) I've been reworking the blog a bit, trying to post more and be consistent, but also to post more than reviews and the same two memes every week (assuming I even post anything during a week). Then I thought of The Weekly Forecast, a way to recap what I did on the blog (and maybe even read and watched and listened to?) the week before, and then to forecast what will be on the blog the coming week. The latter could be helpful because it keeps me in check, kind of: if I tell you I'm going to post a review this week then now I basically have to post a review this week. But first: let me tell you what happened on the blog last week.

Now, this week's post is super duper late--like, a whole day late--because I haven't had the chance to put it together. But I figured, hey, better late than never! Especially since last week's Weekly Forecast really helped me to stay on a schedule and post on the blog--hopefully this week's is just as helpful.

Review: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

Aug 12, 2016

TitleThe Kiss of Deception
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Publishing Date: August 2, 2016
Pages/Format: 688, Hardcover
Add on Goodreads!

Lia and Rafe have escaped Venda and the path before them is winding and dangerous - what will happen now? This third and final book in The Remnant Chronicles is not to be missed.

Bestselling author Mary E. Pearson's combination of intrigue, suspense, romance and action make this a riveting page turner for teens.







Book in One Word: ENJOYABLE


 
site design by designer blogs